Mines football makes history

by | Jan 12, 2023 | Inside Mines, Winter 2023 | 0 comments

Mines football team running onto the field with smoke in the background

Mines football made history in 2022—in more ways than one. The Orediggers advanced to the NCAA Division II national title game for the first time in the program’s 131-year history. Although the Orediggers ultimately lost out on the national championship to Ferris State University, they finished the season with some major records and awards. 

  • Quarterback John Matocha won the Harlon Hill Trophy, considered the Heisman of Division II football. Matocha is the third Oredigger to win this award since it was established in 1986. He was also named the Ron Lenz National Player of the Year.
  • Matocha and Center Matt Armendariz were named to the Associated Press First-Team All-America list. Wide Receiver Max McLeod and Cornerback Mason Pierce earned Second-Team All-America honors.
  • Head coach Brandon Moore was named Coach of the Year by the All-National Football Foundation Colorado Chapter. Matocha was also named Offensive Player of the Year by the organization.
  • Linebacker Ben Fuchs won the Elite 90 Award, presented to the student-athlete with the highest cumulative GPA participating at the finals site for each of the NCAA’s 90 championships.
  • Defensive Tackle Jack Peterson was selected as one of Mines’ Fall 2022 President’s Senior Scholar-Athletes.
  • 17 members of the team celebrated their graduation from Mines this semester.