2010 Distinguished Achievement Medalists

The Distinguished Achievement Medal is awarded by the Colorado School of Mines Board of Trustees to alumni or former students for significant career achievements that enhance the reputation and/or mission of Colorado School of Mines.

Lauren E. Evans ’82

Lauren Evans, who graduated from Mines in 1982 with a BSc. in geological engineering, is the president and founder of Pinyon Environmental Engineering Resources, which provides consulting services related to the assessment, investigation and remediation of real property and regulatory compliance assistance. Ms. Evans is on the board of the American Council of Engineering Companies of Colorado, and was the first woman to serve as president of that organization during 2008-09. She also previously served as chairman of Colorado’s Solid and Hazardous Waste Commission and has served as a court appointed advocate representing abused and neglected children.



David Ginley ’72

David Ginley graduated from Mines in 1972 with a BSc. in mineral engineering chemistry and received his Ph.D. in inorganic chemistry from M.I.T. Dr. Ginley, who is considered one of the world’s leading scientists in the field of thin-film photovoltaics, is a research fellow and group manager at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory. Dr. Ginley’s research team has been awarded the prestigious R & D 100 award five times. Dr. Ginley has over 30 patents and 360 publications in technical journals. Among many other awards and recognitions, he is a fellow of the Electrochemical Society. Dr. Ginley has also served as a member of the visiting committee for the Colorado School of Mines Department of Chemistry and Geochemistry.



Andrew P. Swiger ’78

Andrew Swiger, who received his BSc. in petroleum engineering from Colorado School of Mines in 1978, is senior vice president of ExxonMobil Corporation and a member of the corporation’s Management Committee. Throughout his career, Mr. Swiger has held a variety of technical and managerial positions in production, operations, engineering, planning and gas and power marketing. He previously served as president and general manager of Mobil Oil Canada, as ExxonMobil’s lead country manager in the United Kingdom and Ireland, executive vice president of ExxonMobil Production Company and president of ExxonMobil Gas & Power Marketing. Mr. Swiger is a member of the Center for Strategic and International Studies Advisory Board.



2010 Mines Medalists

The Mines Medal is awarded to those persons, whether or not alumni or members of the close university community, who have rendered unusual and exemplary service to Colorado School of Mines.

Harold Cheuvront

Harold Cheuvront served as vice president of student life and dean of students at Colorado School of Mines from 1989 to 2009. Throughout his tenure, Dr. Cheuvront was a strong advocate for students and helped transform the role that campus and student life play in the educational experience of a Mines student. Dean C, as he was widely known by Mines students, fostered the development of many important campus programs and facilities, including the Minority Engineering Program, the Counseling Center, the Student Health Center, the athletics program, campus residence halls, the Student Recreation Center, and numerous other student activities that have helped the university achieve its ambitious retention and graduation goals.



Marshall Crouch ’67

Marshall Crouch, who received his geological engineer degree from Mines in 1967, is an exemplary alumni leader who gives generously of his time, expertise and resources to engage his fellow alumni and strengthen the university. Among other programs, he has directly supported alumni relations, athletics, Beta Theta Pi fraternity, the Student Recreation Center, the Geology Museum, Arthur Lakes Library, the Geology and Petroleum Engineering Departments, and a number of faculty research projects. Following many years of service on the Colorado School of Mines Alumni Association Board, Mr. Crouch is currently a member of the Colorado School of Mines Foundation Board of Governors as well as the Geology Department Enhancement Committee.




2010 CSMAA Outstanding Alumnus Award

This award recognizes an alumnus and member of the CSMAA who has contributed meritorious service on behalf of the Association.

William (Bill) R. Wilson ’65

Bill Wilson’s multi-facetted involvement with Colorado School of Mines has spanned several decades. Most recently, he has been working closely with Dr. Hugh Miller to restructure and teach the mining department’s senior design course. By attending every class, lecturing and working individually with students, Wilson has enriched this capstone course in ways that ‘cannot be overstated,’ wrote Miller in his award nomination. Wilson also serves as president of the board of trustees for his fraternity, ATO, participates in CSMAA’s Mentoring Program, sat on the executive panel for CSMAA’s 2nd Annual Lessons in Leadership event and has delivered lectures on specialized topics for departments across campus. A veteran of the mining industry, Wilson has founded or led 12 international mining companies during the last 25 years, and currently serves as president, chief operating officer and chief financial officer of New Horizon Uranium Corporation, while sitting on the boards of directors of three international mining companies.

CSMAA Young Alumna Award

The CSMAA Board of Directors presents this award to a young alumna whose accomplishments have reflected favorably on the School and the Association.

Susan Evers ’97

Susan Evers’ enthusiasm for Mines stems from the transformative experience she had as a student. While she describes herself as a shy 18-year-old freshman, by her senior year she was president of her sorority house, a student ambassador and a freshmen mentor. Her professional life has been similarly energetic. A chemical engineering major, she spent three years in the oil industry before launching her career in the biomedical arena. After spending seven years with Johnson and Johnson, she joined Genentech in 2007, prior to the company being acquired by Roche. Outside her professional life, she has served as CSMAA’s Bay Area section coordinator for four years, helping to forge a strong alumni community by sharing her infectious enthusiasm for the school at the various events and activities she’s helped organize. She also participates in CSMAA’s Mentoring Program and recently met with her new protege while attending Guy T. McBride’s 90th birthday celebration and McBride Honors Program reunion held in Golden last October. And in her everyday life, she finds ways to display her Mines pride, sporting a school plate holder on her BMW and donning Mines attire at every opportunity. So while her senior year ended 13 years ago, in addition to signing up as a Lifetime Member of CSMAA, she also seems set on being a lifetime ambassador and mentor for Mines.