AN_Fritz_webMeet the Remarkable, Nontraditional, Fritz Scholars

CSMAA awarded the Fritz Scholarship this fall to petroleum engineering students (left to right) Lyle Hanson, Dustin Stevens and Edward Wolfram, all of whom expect to graduate in May 2015. Administered by CSMAA, the scholarship was established by Duane ’51 and Marcine Fritz (both deceased) and is awarded to Colorado residents majoring in either petroleum engineering or geology.

Hanson has lived most of his life in South Dakota and comes to Mines after eight years of experience drilling oil, gas and water wells.

Stevens hails from Tunkhannock, Pa., and is pursuing his degree at Mines following service in the Air Force and Colorado Air National Guard (he currently is still serving in the guard). In 2010, he was deployed to Afghanistan, where he assisted with troop build-up and managed construction projects for the Marine Corps.

Wolfram, who is following in the footsteps of his brothers Phillip ’08 and Preston ’11, MS ’13, is entering his second year at Mines as a senior thanks to transfer credits from college-level classes taken during high school. He is also enrolled in the McBride Honors Program in Public Affairs.

AN_Coolbaugh_Brandt_webCoolbaugh Senior Awardee

This year’s Coolbaugh Senior Award went to Theodore Brandt, a physics major from Northglenn, Colo., who enjoys computer programming and founded a club at Mines to promote the game Go, the world’s oldest strategic board game, originating in China more than 2,500 years ago. This alumni association award provides need-based financial support to a rising senior who has achieved academic success.