The Mines Mine Rescue Team won third place in the Men’s Field Competition, beating eight professional industry rescue teams, during the Nevada Mine Rescue Contest held in the spring.

Tina Gianquitto, a research associate professor in the Division of Liberal Arts and International Studies (LAIS), was awarded Best Paper (general, non-student) by the Society for the Study of American Women Writers.

College of Applied Science and Engineering Dean Tony Dean was awarded the American Chemical Society Colorado Section Award for 2012.

Professor Emeritus Arthur Kidnay is the 27th recipient of the Gas Processor Association’s prestigious Katz Award.

The Mines chapter of the Society of Physics Students was selected as an Outstanding SPS Chapter for 2011-2012.

Mines student Riya Muckom has been awarded the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship.

The Chemical Engineering Division of the American Society for Engineering Education gave its 2013 Raymond W. Fahien Award to Matthew Liberatore, an associate professor in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering.

Professors Tom Davis, Bruce Honeyman and Azra Tutuncu were named to the Hydraulic Fracturing Research Advisory Panel of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Science Advisory Board.

Chemistry and Geochemistry Associate Professor Bettina Voelker published ‘Widespread Production of Extracellular Superoxide by Heterotrophic Bacteria’ in the May 2, 2013, edition of Science magazine.

Kathleen Hancock, an associate professor in LAIS, was recently published in International Studies Perspectives for her article, ‘Women and Pre-Tenure Scholarly Productivity in International Studies: An Investigation into the Leaky Career Pipeline.’

The National Association of Graduate-Professional Students named Mines’ Graduate Student Association the 2012 Member of the Year and 2012 Western Regional Member of the Year. Zach Aman�’09, MS ’11, PhD ’12 was honored as 2012 Individual Member of the Year.